User FAQ

London flat mates are clustered around the centre

The Cohabitas FAQ is here help you get the most out of the site. Here are some frequently asked questions about managing your account and listing. For other advice search our flat share News & Inspiration.

Q1. What do I do if I have forgotten my username?

Your username or email address can be used as username. Try your email address if you cannot remember your username. (The one you used to register if you have more than one email).

Q2. What do I do if I have forgotten my user password?

You have 5 attempts to remember your password before the system shuts you out as a security measure, in which case you need to request a password reset by clicking on Forgotten your password? (Just under the login button on the login page). Wait 2-3 minutes for it to arrive – usually comes in seconds – and if it does not arrive then please check you spam or junk mail folder in case your email filter sends it there.

Q3. Why do I need a listing as well as a user account?

A. Your user account controls your login and keeps your personal information private (See Privacy Policy for details). The listing contains all of your house sharing preferences and is what appears on the site – linked to your account.

You are taken automatically to the correct Add-a-listing form after completing the user registration. If for some reason you skipped this (naughty!) then you can browse around, but other users may not like dealing with someone who does not have a listing. You can add a listing here.

We ask you add a listing either to advertise a Room for rent, or to advertise yourself as a Housemate to join a house share or to ‘buddy-up’ with other people looking in your area.

Q4. How can I edit my listing?

A. The easiest way is to click on ‘Add / Edit My Listing’ in the main menu. If you already have a listing then it will appear ready for editing (make sure you’ve chosen the right type). Once you have made any changes then simply push Submit at the bottom and your changes should be visible.

Q5. How can I view my listing?

A. Go to Account and see ‘View / Edit listing’. Your listing appears on the right hand side of the age (Desktop or tablet) or down the page (Mobile).

Q6. Can I change my username?

A. No, because this is unique and is set at registration, however, we can change the the display name that appears in your listing. Please send us an email via Contact Us with the required name change.

Q7. How are search results ordered?

A. Listings by Premium members appear top, ranked by Photo and Date added. Other listings appear below also ranked by Date. Do make sure you add a photo to your listing though as that gets best results.

Q8. How can I find my bookmarks?

A. Go to Profile  by clicking on the small photo of you or default image, located top right (or in mobile menu) and click on the Bookmarks tab which is only visible to you, the owner of the account – your bookmarks are private.

Screenshot Of Profile Page With Bookmarks Highlighted

Bookmarks tab highlighted on profile page

Q9. How do I contact someone who is not a Premium member?

A. To start a conversation with a free member you need to become a Premium member yourself. By becoming a Premium member you are promoted in search results, you can message any user and all other users can contact you. So this speeds things up considerably.

Q 10. Why has someone not replied to my message?

A. We encourage all users to respond to messages they receive, but unfortunately some people do not. We cannot force them to reply. Sometimes it is just that they missed the email notification, the reminder email and the onsite notification … so we recommend you send another simple message requesting a response one way or another. If you still get no answer it is probably because they do not want to make contact. This could be because they don’t see it as a good match, or because they have become inactive and not updated their listing. You can just ask if they are still looking/the room is still available.

Q11. How do I know my message was sent?

A. You can see your messages by clicking on Messages in the main menu.

Link To My Messages On Cohabitas House Share

Q12. There are not many housemate listings in my area, what can I do?

A. The number of housemate listings returned in search results depends on how many people are looking in your area. However, in some cases housemate users who are unfamiliar with an area (e.g. London) do not know where they want to live so they just put ‘London’ when in fact they might be open to living in any area of the city.

Therefore, especially in larger cities (See list of top 50 uk city house share searches), you need to look at the central City point and review the housemates there, messaging them to suggest your Room to rent, or if you are considering buddy-ups, by asking if they are interested  to share.

Listings with the same location (central London) are clustered together and you need to click to reveal all.

Map search Cohabitas

Q13. Why are some listing months old?

A. We encourage users to update their listing status once they have found a tenant or found a house or flat share but not everyone does this. If a user has not updated their listing after 3 months we mark this as Paused (Housemates) or Let (assumed by admin).

Q14. Can I list more than one room?

A. Yes, you can list up to 2 rooms to rent as long as in the same address. If you want to list more property locations, for example because you are a professional landlord, then you need a Professional membership. Details here.

Q15. What if I need assistance to register?

A. We offer a telephone registration service. We do it all for you, but you do need to monitor you own messages and also do your own searches. We can lffer advice and support only. Please note we are a listings service, matching people with rooms with people looking for a flat share. If you find a listing you like, you need to message them to arrange a viewing.

Q16. What should I do if someone asks me for money before viewing a flat?

A. You should NEVER pay any money to anyone before viewing a flat or house share room. Whatever the story of why this is needed, and whatever your own desperation to find a place to live, never do this. These people are ‘scammers’. Please report immediately any user who asks for money. Fortunately there are very few incidences, but it can happen, so be aware.

Sign-up

Register to receive our newsletter. You can manage and cancel your subscrition in Account details.